Preparing for IVF

We are meeting with our RE tomorrow to discuss next steps, assuming this cycle is a bust. We’ve completed four IUIs with Clomid, so our logical next step is IUI with injectables. After much research and discussion*, we’re leaning toward IVF as our next step. We are also leaning toward eSET (elective single embryo transfer). We have a lot of questions to ask, but I’d love to hear from those of you who have had to embark on IVF. Knowledgeable IFers, what am I missing?

  1. What success have you had with single embryo transfer?
  2. Is there any situation where you would recommend transferring more than one embryo?
  3. Do you typically do a day 3 or day 5 transfer?
  4. How do you store any remaining embryos? Do you freeze them in multiples or singularly?
  5. What will my drug protocol be?
  6. Do you think we’ll need to consider ICSI, or will this be a in the heat of the moment decision? (Hubby has great counts and great motility and progression, but maybe my eggs have shells that are as hard as cement!?)
  7. How much time will I be required to take off work for the retrieval and transfer? How much bed rest is required?
  8. What is the success rate of IVF for my age group at your clinic?
  9. Timing? (I have jury duty in early December and a trip to visit family for the holidays.)
  10. What are the possible side effects of the IVF drugs and procedures?
  11. What are the chances for miscarriage?
  12. What are your thoughts on adding acupuncture to the mix?

* The idea of multiples scare the crap out of us. It’s simply not an option for us and with IVF we can control the exact number of embryos implanted. As I noted in this blog post, there is some research that shows a better success rate when one embryo is transferred. Let’s hope that we’re in this success category.

P.S. As you’ll notice, I refuse to refer to the coming IVF with a number next to it. I did the same with my first IUI. I refused to call it “#1” because I didn’t want to think that more than one IUI would ever be needed. So now you know why I will not number this IVF cycle.

Have any of your elected for one embryo for transfer? I’d love to hear about your experience.

6 responses to “Preparing for IVF

  1. I don’t really know anything about this topic, but good luck!!

  2. A

    I haven’t done IVF, but I am praying that your careful approach will be blessed by God!!

  3. I hope you get a BFP and don’t even have to consider this – but I think it’s smart to have done all this research. We’re gonna do one more IUI with oral meds and I also think it makes sense to go IVF, rather than IUI with injectables. Can’t wait to hear how it all works out!

  4. Julie

    Just wanted to say thanks for sharing all of this info. We’re going in tomorrow for our IVF consult and I feel almost paralyzed by all of the information we will need to absorb and consider. Your posts have been really helpful for me in narrowing down what I need to focus on! Your perspective is also very motivating and inspiring. (:

  5. Hi, read your comment on my post. Thanks for the link to this. I will add it to my list of questions.

Leave a comment

Welcome!

After nearly 3 years of TTC and the help of ART, we got pregnant on our 5th IVF/FET transfer after IVF #2. Our beautiful fraternal twin boys were born on 7/15/11 at 37w0d.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 63 other subscribers

Archives